Day 24

Today I agreed to do a presentation with Corey at a local assisted living facility. It will be in May. We will be talking about health literacy in the elderly. Since we are planning on giving a presentation at this particular place, we will not have a PowerPoint set up, and we will be giving it with no technologic visual aids. I did a lot of research from Healthy People 2010, National Assessment of Adult Literacy, Nursing World, and American Nurses Association. I suggested a brochure-like visual aid. Something that the older adults would be able to follow or use after we leave. Corey and I would definitely be able to role play as health professionals and ask questions to our target audience to get a better understanding of their health literacy skills.

I went through the 5-2-1-0 toolkit to simplify concepts and activity based learning for the elementary grade levels. I have been trying to focus more on making it strictly learning based instead of just activities. The more I take a step back and look at it each time, the more I can see the revisions that need to be made to it and I get a clearer understanding of what is expected and how to meet the expectations into a health promotion toolkit.

After my research and revisions, I spoke to CHEN about March of Dimes, March for Babies, and Earth Day this Saturday. We discussed what to bring and the time we would meet up to set up. It seems like since last year was a great success that it would be as busy this Saturday. I am thrilled to see how this event will turn out, especially with it being my first time at both Maritime and Bayview Parks.

Total Daily Hours Earned: 4.30
Total Internship Hours Acquired: 126.30

 

Leave a Reply

