Day 36

I was a little nervous today because I knew I had the Ebonwood Outreach in the afternoon. I worked on making an outline for what I had so far for the powerpoint for AHEPA’s Summer Safety presentation. I had much more research than I thought. I figured thirty slides was too much information to present, even though I already planned the pre-test and post test questions. I also was thinking of doing maybe a summarized format of what we are going to discuss for summer safety, instead of the audience using multiple brochures for information. It is still a work in progress, but I am glad there are many ideas involved into it.

The outreach for Ebonwood was prepped by having ‘mystery boxes’ of a fruit or vegetable. Stephanie and I chose the age group 8-11 years old. The plan was to have the kids of the chosen age group to put their hand in the box and feel the fruit or vegetable, guess what it is and speak with the members of their team to guess which one it is. Stephanie and I had pencils and the matching fruit and vegetable. On the other sheet of worksheet, there were specific groups of fruits or vegetables that the children had to write down. Categories such as fruits that you can make into a pie, crunchy vegetables,  and red fruits or vegetables really made the children think. We decided that after the five teams were to finish, whichever team had the most correct would shoot a basketball in the hoop we brought. It was very engaging and fun, and I enjoyed it a lot. I hope the nervousness dies down the more I attend these outreaches. It is planned for 30 minutes, but we actually stayed for 45 minutes. It doesn’t seem like much to get the messages of 5-2-1-0 across, even though the children know it already.

Total Daily Hours Earned: 4.30
Total Internship Hours Acquired: 190.56

Leave a Reply

