Day 37

Today was the second week we assisted with Ebonwood. I decided to take on the youngest group. They were between five and seven years old. I went with Skye and we introduced ourselves as we went over 5-2-1-0. We decided to focus on the ‘2’ of the 5-2-1-0 program. We played charades and concluded with those were activities they are able to do to reduce screen time hours. I also worked on the AHEPA presentation. Having to do a lot of research within a short amount of time always makes me nervous. Initially, making a formatted bullet list assisted in trying to get my point across. The main points that Corey and I discussed for Summer Safety were Drowning Prevention, Heat Stress, Sun and Skin Protection, Skin Cancer and Melanoma, Food Safety, Recreational Water Illness, and Mosquito Prevention. I decided that for some of the content, a brochure from the health department would be applicable. The Drain & Cover one seemed to fit, so that we would just be going over DEET and when to wear mosquito repellent and draining outside excess water. Printing handouts last time we did a presentation for health literacy was very helpful. Corey allowed me to take over the entire presentation, but I also allowed everyone in CHEN’s opinions to assure I am giving the right information and that it makes sense to the audience. I double checked the content to make sure if there were any hand outs, that they were in simple terms that the elderly women would be able to use. After making the outline and deciding on some of the handouts, I decided to focus primarily researching on heat stress, sun and skin protection, melanoma, and mosquito prevention. Even though I know we won’t use the powerpoint in presenting the information, I know it will be useful.

Total Daily Hours Earned: 5.58
Total Internship Hours Acquired: 196.14

Leave a Reply

