Day 39

The first thing I did when I came in this morning was double-check all the handouts to make sure I had everything for AHEPA. We decided to hand out a UV Index for today within the AHEPA’s zip code. We also decided to have other hand outs, such as choosing the right type of sun screen/ sun block, the differences between them, and the cancer prevention brochure from the health department that states when they should get checked for skin cancer. Tanisha put the packets together because we agreed that it would be less disruptive to pass out the hand outs during the presentation. Sun screen and mosquito repellent samples were also on the list. When we got there, Tanisha had the packets ready to go. There were actually more people there than the health literacy presentation. I felt like during the presentation one of my initial faults was explaining the packet in such a way that the AHEPA residents thought that they were going to follow along and they had a copy of the presentation in the packet. I only had flash cards with me this time. There were a few questions that I honestly didn’t know how to answer, but assured that I would follow-up with the person that we keep in touch with. Corey stated the flow went well, as I paused frequently in between topics to ask the audience questions. I did have a different preference in presenting as I felt like I was more engaging with the audience. I asked personal questions like, “Has anyone here ever experience any type of heat stress? What happened and what did you do? How often do you get checked for skin cancer?” I was able to use their responses as a guide to elaborate more on the presentation that way. They loved the presentation and stated they learned a few new things. Their favorite time was when we handed out samples of sun screen and mosquito repellent. We had a CHEN meeting about the upcoming events, such as Pensacola Beach and Perdido Key Visitors Centers to promote sun and skin protection, as well as hydration with water. It will be on Mondays and Fridays. Corey also assigned me the CDC Clear Communication Index after the meeting. Tanisha and I talked about the Ebonwood meeting because it was agreed that only the interns would be going. Instead of simultaneously though, the classes we would go to would be one by one, as we would be giving the lessons.

Total Daily Hours Earned: 8.67
Total Internship Hours Acquired: 210.39

Leave a Reply

