Day 46

I was assigned a Healthy Babies Module for the Faith-Based Health Information (HI) Network. This is the last module that is due for the fiscal year. It will be about infant mortality among black women. The module contains a PowerPoint presentation, flyer, brochure, and short messages. I met up with one of the breastfeeding coordinators in WIC and she gave me great resources and insights for nutrition portion. She also gave me a handful of information about breastfeeding and the expectations, breastfeeding after coming back from maternity leave, and benefits of it for mothers and babies. It gave me the idea to start on the MyPlate portion of the presentation. I decided to use MyPlate nutrition guidelines for the general population of adults, but also specify pregnant women as well. MyPlate had more information on it than I thought. I even included two slides for components on limiting added sugars, and healthy oils. It seems like much information in a module to be done in a week because the research portion is my main focus. I’m sure I will come up with a flowing outline soon. CHEN also went over the Back to School Promotion that is a five day ‘outreach’ at the health department that I would be in charge of. I decided to focus two days on nutrition, so food demos would be the focus those days. And two days of hydration, along with at least one day of physical activity, but tying in proper hydration as well.

Total Daily Hours Earned: 8.17
Total Internship Hours Acquired: 260.48

Leave a Reply

